Desexualization

Youth Culture - Hippies 1960s

Youth Culture – Hippies 1960s (Photo credit: brizzle born and bred)

For a sexual revolution

it’s remarkably like sitting.

Don’t get me wrong,

there’s some fine monitors out there

but they hold no tongue

to the grace of touch

pirouetted down a glance’s flare

heating the muddy pools of Woodstock;

it’s held now, at the push of a button

agonizing seconds of cyberspace

as to whether winky face

implies a wink or sillier drink

while pictures, trailing a thousand lols

peel off the layers between

expediency and self-preservation

disillusioned lies of privacy

undermining the intimacy

of human artistry.

15 thoughts on “Desexualization

  1. ah, there is much on the net that will undermine the intimacy that is for sure, a little photoshop airbrush wont fix either…ha, those opening 2 lines…smiles….nice one chris…great to see you

    • “Maybe it’s Maybelline,” – or maybe it’s Photoshop. Too true, Brian. We attempt to brush over a great deal, and rush much more, to make everything look like perfection, while the heart of it is far from truth…thanks for popping by!

  2. Instead of making it easier, technology seems to be just gritty interference in allowing us to know, explore, understand, and have a true courtship with anyone (and I might add at any age). Is it a co-incidence that people are marrying later and waiting to have children – I don’t know. Your use of language certainly expresses it well.

    • Communication is the broadest and most capable it’s ever been; yet in the act itself, I think, something is being lost. Rather, I would argue that in an age where we can connect with nearly anyone, anywhere, we’re almost more disconnected from actual people than ever. Romance particularly seems to be taking on new, oddly impersonal shades that, even growing up in an era where this is the norm, I look about and think, “What the heck is wrong with this picture?”

      Thanks, Gay. Glad you liked the piece, and took the time to share some of your thoughts on the matter!

    • In the past few decades, we have truly broadened the scope and capability of communication; it does not mean we have improved the act itself. Rather, I would argue that in an age where we can connect with nearly anyone, anywhere, we’re almost more disconnected from actual people than ever.

      • Agreed. Although I will say that there are meaningful connections through these new means. It’s just sad that for most it costs the ability to connect in a physically present manner.

        • Oh of course! I would never say there are no meaningful connections to come of this. In fact, more to the point, WITH the scope and capability of communication at the point it is, we should be having MORE meaningful connections. There are so many ways it could be used–my point is that, simply, for the majority this is not becoming the case. It seems to be reinforcing a sort of, confusing impersonal nature to the act of communication–and you’re right, it’s the physical that suffers. We become so accustomed to our time delays and our hastily, poorly scribbled textings, that when it come to real time, in person, looking eye to eye, and hand-in-hand, something else, something truly human, is often lost.

          I could wax philosophic on this for hours, so my apologies if I seem a bit long-winded! Thanks for engaging.

        • Ha ha it’s okay. You have valid points that I agree with completely. It’s something I too could go on about for hours as well. I also find it funny, and this may just be me and no one else, how I find myself so much better matched with people I can’t physically connect with. What I mean is that I have more to say and relate to with people I have never and probably will never see face to face than I do with people that I know in real life. I think it’s because in life we interact with people we have closeness in proximity to versus people we have closeness in personality or common interests. I think that may also factor into the issue of lack of connection on a physical level. Make sense? Maybe not but its what I think.

  3. Yes, cyberspace be terribly impersonal and leaves you longing for something warm and real. On nights like this when I am dipping into the beautiful poems offered up by creative minds like yours, I think the negatives are worth the rewards. Nicely done.

    • You are too kind, Nara. I’m honored that it so resonated! We can share many words across the great expanse of the Internet, but too few are the earnest, honest connections. Too easy to hide behind masks, perhaps…But it need not be so. It is a writer’s duty to believe in the eternal capability of words, after all. They can be an escape, or a deeper connection. I’m glad these connected with you, and thank you for taking the time to say so.

  4. Oh, Chris, I love this. I also wrote a love poem with winking eyes in it today…

    I think it is important to note that, technology aside, makeup aside, match.com aside, we are still all social animals craving connection. Sigh. So often we miss what we want most.

  5. Perhaps it is more of a “desensitization.” Spending time with cyber friends rather than real ones. Finding a balance might be the thing, or just turning the monitor off and going it face to face.
    Well captured, Chris.

Leave a Reply

