Of Mines and Experiments

English: Image of American philosopher/poet Ra...

Image of Ralph Waldo Emerson. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“All life is an experiment. The more experiments you make the better.”
~Ralph Waldo Emerson

It’s a phrase writers should certainly live and die by. Stagnation is, after all, the death of art, complacency the the great oppressor of the self. Without change, without experiment, there is no learning, and if we aren’t spending this life learning–what exactly are we doing?

Of course, to actually survive in this atrocious economy (can’t scribble if you’re dead, right?), that concept of experimentation is just as important for the job market. That said, I’ll be undertaking my own little experiment starting this week. Training, training, training…and underground, too. I recently took on a mining job up in Colorado’s lovely stretch of the Rockies, and while it’s certainly an abrupt shift from both my passion and my usual, I certainly hope there will be a lot to take away from it after a hard day. More insight into the underground for my scribbling, for one thing; a whole bigger dose of patience and endurance for another.

Will it be hard? Yes. Will I have less time for my real passions? Yes. Will blog posts likely take a hit over time? Almost certainly.

But I will have powerful new experiences to draw from, steady work, and undoubtedly, a whole bunch of good stories to tell.

I’m ready. Are you? Start churning the wheels in that head of yours. Think of some new matter you could turn to this month, anything, and make it so…you never know what might come of it.

Lead mining, upper Mississippi River

Mining… (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Leave a Reply

