New Beginnings

Well fellows, when last we met I was pulling into my new life in Golden, Colorado – in mountains and prairie and that open air of the American West.

It’s been a strange week since then, one with its ups and its downs. Being my natural clumsy self, within the first 48 hours I managed to get in a bike accident that took off most of the skin on the bottom of my palms. However, I also managed a great deal of exploration, photographic discovery, and plenty of quality time with family and their friends.

It’s an interesting place, Colorado, and the land is made infinitely better by family. Undoubtedly, in the days to come I’ll have more to say on the mountainous terrain – more pictures and more poems to give homage to the majesty to be found here, but today, to start this new week out, and to re-establish the normal flow of things around the Waking Den, I would like to kick things off with the latest Quote of the Week, with this week’s focus being family, in all its wonder. Cheers, all.

“An ounce of blood is worth more than a pound of friendship.” 
~Spanish Proverb

“What greater thing is there for human souls than to feel that they are joined for life – to be with each other in silent unspeakable memories.” 
~George Eliot

2 thoughts on “New Beginnings

  1. I giggle a little at your story, not your injury, only I tend to have those type of moments…learning how to be more graceful in my tumble 😉 I hope your healing well and am glad you have started to explore Colorado. Great Eliot quote too! My best ~ Rose

Leave a Reply

