Crutch

No dream may suffice

in lieu of waking glances.

Still life holds love destitute,

such that dreams become vision,

the lie on which heart relies.

* Oh I do so loathe my stomach, at times, for all its troubles.

Forgive this poet’s absence this evening. The above is my submission for One Stop Poetry, and it may not be my best work, but it was produced under a day of food poisoning…which consequently is the same reason you may detect a noticeable disappearing act from me tonight. I’ll likely read as I can, but I’ve been keeping quite to bed today, and given how my stomach’s still acting, I don’t foresee that changing shortly.

19 thoughts on “Crutch

  1. impressive you could write at all in your current physical state. so sorry you’re feeling terrible 😦

    I liked the first two lines best 🙂

    Feel better!

  2. dude, food poisoning sucks…hope you feel better….

    let the heart hold onto that lie, though perhaps it is better by its other name, hope.

  3. I personally feel that poems exuding our experiences have a weight of expression that others do not
    Feel better Chris and thanks for all you do for the one Stop Team
    Hugs from the Dark Side of the …

  4. I’m surprised you were still able to write.
    Nicely done.

    I’ve had a few bouts of food poisoning myself and it does make you feel the worse for wear.

    Hope you feel better soon.

  5. Terrific short poem! And written under the haze of food poisoning? Amazing! Thank you, Chris. Hope you fell better soon.

  6. I hope you are feeling better Chris, it certainly did not have an affect on your piece this week. “the lie on which the heart relies” fantastic line! ~ Rose

  7. Sorry you’re not well Chris… Take care of yourself.

    I always love your short pieces and wouldn’t have noticed it was written under duress if you hadn’t said so. It’s a great piece.

  8. Well, it is those dreams and visions that sometimes lend life its meaning.. however untrue it may be.. 🙂
    But I liked the way you said it, Chris.. there was something very artistic about it..

    Oh, and about your tummy, take care, my friend… I hope you get better and running soon!! Rest well..

Leave a Reply

