Lovely Quotes of the Week

Welcome, one and all, to that heart-shaped dose of holiday action the world seems to have taken to calling “St. Valentine’s Day.” In honor of that special little holiday, for lovers and romantics and couples and (insert rant about corporate interests here) that sponsor them, I leave you this week with a handful of quotes that cover the more romantic side of life. Enjoy!

“Love is life. All, everything I understand, I understand only because I love.”
~Leo Tolstoy

“At the touch of love, everyone becomes a poet.
~Plato

“Come live with me, and be my love,
And we will some new pleasures prove
Of golden sands, and crystal brooks,
With silken lines, and silver hooks.
~John Donne

“We’ve got this gift of love, but love is like a precious plant. You can’t just accept it and leave it in the cupboard or just think it’s going to get on by itself. You’ve got to keep watering it. You’ve got to really look after it and nurture it.
~John Lennon

And one, (excuse the more melancholy portion of this segment) I think sums up well enough my own place among this holiday, though I say that still wishing all of you that do have that special someone well, and a wonderful day:

“I don’t wish to be everything to everyone, but I would like to be something to someone.”
~Javan (Steven Javan Jones)

3 thoughts on “Lovely Quotes of the Week

  1. Ah, one of my favorite quotes about love.

    “I don’t wish to be everything to everyone, but I would like to be something to someone.”
    ~Javan (Steven Javan Jones)

    I think that describes where I am as well.

  2. Thanks for the quote and the Steven Fry video! Good on you for getting a onestop in, it’s quite good actually! Let me know if you find a way out of the quagmire…I seem to fall into one every week!

Leave a Reply

