Under the Sheets

They’re making the bed with me still in it,

lying–

as they draw and quarter me in sheets.

I step outside myself and see

the smothering pillow, mothering willow

spread me out and drown me in

white, like Lazarus stepping from his tomb,

but there is no resurrection here,

just a face that saw the skyward climb

and faltered, just before the final rise.

* My latest contribution to the wonderful One Shot Poetry Wednesdays! Once you’ve had a look, check out some of the other One Shot Poets as well–they’re a skilled bunch of poets, looking to form a community and support one another.  Enjoy!

21 thoughts on “Under the Sheets

  1. Wow Chris – great visual. I’m Not wanting to feel the sheet closing out my life

    You getting enough sleep??? aka finals

    Nicely done for One Shot

    Thanks for all you do!! – MDW

    • Haha, I’m doing my best, Leslie. I never get as much sleep as I probably should. These finals are a bloody menace, though – and really, who has graduation day the weekend BEFORE finals? Madness I say. Make me think I’m free and then they just pull me right back in…

      Thanks for the kind words!

  2. It was like a whitemare..like trying to sleep and getting all tangled in the sheets, but an excellent write with good imagery. Thanks, Gay @beachanny

  3. they draw and quarter me in sheets…love this. i have the feeling your imagery is getting stronger and stronger..also like the touch of “madness” in your poems lately (a good kind of madness – a let go madness if you want..)

  4. yeah, I like your style, Chris. You got it. The Lazarus reference is nicely done, as is this – ‘smothering pillow, mothering willow’

    Really nice poem, man (on the blogs I guess all comments are positive but you learn to read between the lines and know when some one really *rates you*)

    ps great to be part of OSW finally!

    pps if you ever want a neutral environment to get good constructive crit, you’re welcome to join the Facebook Group I run. The link’s on my blogroll (WordSalad Worthclicking)

  5. Ooohh.. me likes the metaphors here… made it all very eerily visual! Add to it the wintry chills, and the effect is super cold!!
    A really cool wordplay here…

    By the way, congratulations on coming out with flying colors in your finals!! Awesome! 🙂 Freedom… at long last, eh?! 🙂

  6. Twice in my life I have been in the situation of having a bed made while I’m still in it — and both times were in hospitals. This brought all fo that back. Simple, yet powerful. Well done.

  7. Whoa, what a poem! The ending was especially superb! You really have a way with imagery and metaphors.

    “just a face that saw the skyward climb

    and faltered, just before the final rise.”

    Absolutely brilliant!

  8. Chris-

    I missed One Shot this week…but not this poem…I dig your poetry, as you know

    This poem…
    evokes a feeling/experience I know well…

    such darkness within white sheets
    really like your use of Lazarus

Leave a Reply

