Funeral for Reason

Reason

never had its

season in the papers,

but its obituary was

adored.

* My latest contribution to the wonderful One Shot Poetry Wednesdays! The style used here is known as Cinquain, a five-line stanza form containing twenty-two syllables, in the sequence: 2, 4, 6, 8, 2. The form was invented by Adelaide Crapsey (1878-1914), an American poetess. Once you’ve had a look, check out some of the other One Shot Poets as well– they’re a skilled bunch of poets, looking to form a community and support one another.  Enjoy!

24 thoughts on “Funeral for Reason

  1. To be loved after death… indeed, reason lacks season there. That’s a really cool form. And I think it would sound cool read backwards, emphasizing each line. Just saying. Feel free to ignore that. lol Excellent use of form.

  2. haha!! LOVED this one, Chris! And darned true too!!
    It’s funny how both our One Shots seem to hover around reason (or the lack of it).. Well, I suppose great minds think alike 😉
    That said, mine went on for pages, and you said it in just a few words! That’s AWESOME! I’ve got loads to learn..

  3. wow – how nice! loved the rhythm the poem gets through the structure…a Cinquain..maybe should try one as well…i’m a bit on a poetry form discovery trip at the moment and really like this one chris

  4. I’m so impressed when a poet manages to say so much while conforming to a poetic style, especially one allowing so few words. Were I to manage that, it would be purely by accident, I assure you.

    I love your poem’s message. I rather mourn Reason myself these days.

    Thanks for stopping by my place and commenting. I appreciate it.

  5. Love your cinquain – I recently rewrote a free verse poem in cinquain stanza, also did a mirror-cinquain (lovely – have you tried one? 2-4-6-8-2 | 2-8-6-4-2 – also wrote that one as Rictameter too, which is very close to a mirror-cinquain – 2-4-6-8-10-8-6-4-2 but first and last lines must be identical).

    your cinquain above is very impressive. makes me want to go and write another….

    Great stuff man

    Luke

  6. Pingback: A Cinquain & Palindrome « Dustus' Blog

Leave a Reply

