Passing

I thought I saw

someone I knew,

she smiled at me and I returned

to fevered touches, fettered glances

of a kingdom once serene,

but then I realized

the face behind those eyes

and the walls, once glittering

unraveled with the mortar

of memory, profound–

these smiles were never ours to hold,

never ours to know,

and two shadows, ill-defined

passed again into obscurity,

no words to mar

the bittersweet serenity of silence.

* My latest contribution to the wonderful One Shot Poetry Wednesdays! Once you’ve had a look, check out some of the other One Shot Poets as well– they’re a skilled bunch of poets, looking to form a community and support one another.  Enjoy!

31 thoughts on “Passing

  1. An incredible description of that moment when the face of a stranger brings us back to another time. I loved the imagery. You pulled me in and held my attention to the very end. Very well done!

  2. your poem brought to me that momentary feeling of seeing an old lover, and the realization that this person before you is no one to you… and never will be

    sad and yet sweet longing xo

  3. these smiles were never ours to hold…
    I find this so profound and truthful. As much as we’d like to hold on to something, msot things are meant to pass.
    Beautiful.

  4. Incredibly written, this beautiful view of…envisioned/or remembered a comforting place, and realized “ache” of reality, all passing by in a few moments of silence…I know such a place…~April 🙂

  5. People touch us as teachers, nurses, librarians, doctors, workmen, neighbors and move out of our lives. Shadows like ships passing through life. What we don’t realize is we like they leave imprints. It’s always so gratifying to be remembered. Lovely work with so much resonance. Well written. Thanks, Gay

    PS Thanks for being so supportive of my work

  6. Great piece, the past is not always going to be apart of our future. Once one door closes, one will surely open and the pain endured will indeed cease. Thank You for sharing this 😉

Leave a Reply

