Of Frustration

Writhing serpent of my dissolution

No solution

To your pollution

Of my ever-yearning soul

No more grim atoll

Might ever seize upon my whole—

My life, my life!

They call upon the fife

Thrusting its notes upon the edge of a knife

No travail

Might ever prevail

Above the madness that assail

My spirit wails, unfit

To persevere and to submit

To all the hopes that you have writ.

* My latest contribution to the wonderful One Shot Poetry Wednesdays! Once you’ve had a look, check out some of the other One Shot Poets as well– they’re a skilled bunch of poets, looking to form a community and support one another.  Enjoy!

20 thoughts on “Of Frustration

  1. Wow – I feel the writhing , dissatisfaction, the striving for what is out of reach.

    Chris – you never stop amazing me with your talent in both writing and photography

    thanks for each week coming by to One Shot

    glad to have a talented friend such as you – Moonie

  2. “No travail / Might ever prevail / Above the madness that assail” the repetition of rhyme, along with the sentiment, fits well with the imagery. Like the title too. Excellent wordplay throughout the poem.

  3. Good, seen-through-fresh-eyes pairing of words, with particularly a particularly strong beginning and finish, along with the uber-cool line, “Thrusting its notes upon the edge of a knife”.

  4. You’ve captured that sense of running into brick walls perfectly. And isn’t all a series of frustrations, puzzles, questions and then trying to figure it out; but having to abandon a pursuit without seeing it to conclusion can be the worst. Yes one does feel writhing, and snaky and discontent. Great metaphors! Thanks, Gay @beachanny

  5. I agree with pete! This would be a poem to read out loud! with such wonderful words that feel amazing upon your tongue
    serpent

    pollution

    grim atoll

    dissolution

    I am so saying each one out loud right now! Ha!

    Fantastic One Shot

  6. Very very interesting and the words “My Life, My life… ” rang out loud … I enjoyed reading it so much…

    Lovely.

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    I will great if you connect with me at Twitter @VerseEveryDay to read daily #FreeHaiku on love, life and longing

Leave a Reply

