An Idea, A Muse

I dub thee Goddess Moon,

Patron of the painter’s boon

Mistress of the writer’s swoon

The world could circumnavigate

This trait, you call thy state

But they would only desecrate—

That holy word, this blurred

In bitter flight, bird

I am certain they should call absurd

But here you are, a smile

Resting yet upon the winds of wile

Of your fertile guile

Merest notion

Of my dearest heart’s devotion—

This world is not yet ready for your motion.

My latest contribution to the wonderful One Shot Poetry Wednesdays! Once you’ve had a look, check out some of the other One Shot Poets as well– they’re a skilled bunch of poets, looking to form a community and support one another.  Enjoy!

32 thoughts on “An Idea, A Muse

  1. That muse of yours was in rare form my friend.
    What a great delivery – perfect

    I think the world is quite ready for your talent!!!

    As is One Shot

    Moon Beams of pride

    • *bows* Thank you Moon Beams! I am ever honored and humbled by the kindness you and the good people at One Shot show me. It was a pleasure to write of those things that do so inspire us all!

  2. The magic of “threes”. And you have captured magic. I love these lines, “But here you are, a smile/ Resting yet upon the winds of wile” Throughout a unique kind of music that is yours alone. Excellent. Thank you.

    • Normally I seem to tend toward a distinct lack of rhyme to my poems…the words are there, the flow and beat is there…but the rhyme…not so much. It’s nice to change it up from time to time though, see the words come out the way I like.

      And I am glad that you liked the end results as well. If I have captured magic, than it is the magic that so captivates us all. Each of us has our muses, and I do think they deserve our praise!

      Thank you for the comment!

  3. Read this one a few times… Quite a statement in 5 short 3-line stanzas. One thing you made me consider, which may or may not be true, when it comes to inspiration… this world is not always predictable, though most of the time it does seem that way. Great work, Chris. Also, thanks for your kind words about One Shot!

    • The world may seem that way indeed, but all the more reason to be thankful when it isn’t! A little change is always a good thing. Thank you Adam, your words are an honor to me…and it’s always a pleasure spreading the good One Shot word!

    • And I’ll say here again what I said to Talon: and who are we to deny her call? Always nice when one’s move sways a bit to the music of our minds–the results are a delight.

      Glad you liked it, Brian–and thanks for the comment!

    • Her touch is life, her departure…a little devastation. Glad you enjoyed it–I hope your muse is treating you kindly, too! A happy one shot right back at you!

  4. And look who’s playing the rhyme game today! 🙂
    You were fully ready for this, weren’t you?! 😉
    Well done, Chris!!! Just as much as your poem did justice to your muse, I MUST SAY your muse did equal justice to your nice crisp poem too!!!
    A lovely read!

    • Ready? No, no…I merely go where the moment takes me, Kavita! I was merely fortunate that my muse led me somewhat in your footsteps, this time around. 🙂
      Thank you so much! As ever, your kindness is not only appreciated, but cherished. Hope the muse is strong with you today as well!

    • What grander a thing to write about than that which runs through us all and puts our words to us? Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed, and that you appreciate the muse as much as I do.

  5. This is fantastic. As you can see by my blog title, the Muses and I have a close personal and sometimes stormy relationship. But like family, I still love them. It sounds like you have a pretty good relationship with your Muse. She certainly did well with this one.

    • Yes I can certainly see that. But I think we all have that sort of love/hate with our Muses…sometimes they’re with us, and sometimes they’re against us. Often both at the wrong times! But c’est la vie…life rolls on. Thank you for the kindness–may your muse treat you well!

    • To muses one and all, my friend, but Moon certainly deserves it, I’ll give her that. She’s doing a wonderful job hosting this week. Glad you enjoyed it though, Pete–a happy one shot to ya!

  6. …But here you are, a smile,
    resting yet upon the winds of wile…
    beautiful write Chris – with a great flow – loved the above line…

Leave a Reply

