Ride on

I will ride you down.

Weather the weather,

Gnash tooth and claw

This spear, your arm

Outstretched to meet me

Like a wall of flesh

No more, no more

Come dust and earth

On bitter wind blow

I am vengeance

Ride on, ride on

And I will bear you down

Ride on, ride on

My lance, my passion

My steed, my life

Put up your steel

And dig your feet

I ride and ride for thee

Ride on, ride on

This barren waste is wasted

Ride on, ride on

Cracked and peel and broke asunder

Torn hoof and heel

I soar, as an eagle on the wind

Above the mountain heights

As both sink lower to the earth

Scarlet memory flow

Here falls, here rides

The mad man dead upon the field

And I am here, and staggering on

Ride on, ride on

A breath, a life, a broken soul

Ride on, ride on.

My latest contribution to the wonderful One Shot Poetry Wednesdays! If you happen to notice a correlation of theme, or at least, imagery, between this and last week’s submission, though, you’d be right. Congratulations. I’ve had this whole cavalry sort of notion stuck in my head for a bit now, and both of these were a result of that. Once you’ve had a look, check out some of the other One Shot Poets as well– they’re a skilled bunch of poets, looking to form a community and support one another.  Enjoy!

25 thoughts on “Ride on

    • Sometimes good things simply come in groups, no? And yes, a beat, like the pounding of a horse’s hooves upon the dirt…thanks for the comment, brian! A happy oneshot to you as well.

    • When the world bears down on us, it is rarely anything but. Ah, the tension in those moments, that looming specter driving us on. I loathe to think of it, but I always seem to come out ahead when it rears its ugly head.

      Glad you enjoyed the read, claudia!

    • Thanks, dustus! I suppose it’s a lingering fascination from youth, but I’ve always had a thing for this whole medieval knight business. I think it just happened to rise to the surface in recent weeks, the sights and sounds and the thoughts of these men, heads to the field and lances tipped, preparing for a charge into god knows what…

      Such a thought. Such a sight. Glad you liked it.

  1. i remember mentioning the charge of the light brigade last week and having to pick themselves up and charge again..well this week they did..very well captured and thanks for sharing..pete

    • “Theirs not to make reply,
      Theirs not to reason why,
      Theirs but to do and die…”

      Thanks, Pete. Always a pleasure. Thanks for swinging by on yet another wonderful One Shot Wednesday!

  2. Yea, sometimes a feeling or thematic image seems to last much longer than anticipated! And it begins to show in art 🙂 But just like you did, I intersperse it with other stuff… just in case.. 🙂

    Love the repetition used in this one.. Ride on Ride on.. brings an added effect to the vigor and emotion!!! Awesome!

    • But of course. Just because the feeling lasts, doesn’t mean you shouldn’t change it up a bit here and there. Got to keep things rolling along–and you can’t have your readers getting bored, now can you?

      Thanks Kavita! It was a pleasure to write, and a pleasure to read your commentary :)!

  3. I love the movement Chris. Nothing is going to stop this rider not even death.

    Nicely conveyed piece

    Moon smiles

    thanks for sharing with One Shot

Leave a Reply

